Update on Everyday Life in Barranquilla

I blog a lot about travelling and interesting stuff I do- but I often forget about how I’m getting on in day to day life. This is just a wee update on what I do regularly, how I have fun and how I feel about Barranquilla.

20130131-224340.jpg

I made it no secret in my first few months that I wasn’t enjoying myself. I struggled with the hot and humid weather, I found it hard to make new friends and the change from independent student living to being with a family and sharing a room, had me feeling depressed. In my first 3 or 4 months I cried a lot, I spent a lot of time talking to people back home and a lot of time complaining about how much this experience had been terrible.

In my fourth month things started to get better. I joined a dance class, and going to it 2 or 3 times a week got me active and prevented boring weekdays. I decided to ditch the attempt at making Colombian friends, and started hanging out a lot more with Beci and Sarah (The other two British Council assistants) and through them I met mor gringos and my social life started to fill up. Over time I found myself enjoying Barranquilla more and more.

Now I really like the life I’ve made in Colombia. Things aren’t perfect, but whenever are they? I still do my dance class regularly. We have a movie night once a week. I’m going out nearly every weekend, and Carnaval fever is setting in.

In the long haul, I’m super glad I stuck through the rubbish first few months. I’ve really started to love Colombia, and I’m starting to think about ways to come back and live here for even longer. My advice to anyone feeling shitty about an abroad placement is stick with it. By forcing yourself to be social, asking your friends for help and keeping a positive attitude you really will come to like your experience: as Dolly Parton says, “If you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.”

Leave a Reply

